19 Rajya Sabha MPs Suspended Day After Action Against 4 Lok Sabha MPs
19 Rajya Sabha MPs Suspended Day After Action Against 4 Lok Sabha MPs

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!


Nineteen opposition MPs had been suspended from the Rajya Sabha

New Delhi:

Nineteen opposition MPs have been suspended from the Rajya Sabha for the remainder of the week for disrupting right now’s session.

“The decision to suspend the opposition MPs from the Rajya Sabha was taken with a heavy heart. They continue to ignore the appeals of the Chairman,” mentioned BJP’s Piyush Goyal. “The government is ready for a debate on the price hike as soon as Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman recovers and returns to parliament,” mentioned Mr Goyal, chief of the home within the Rajya Sabha.

The newest spherical of suspensions got here a day after 4 Congress MPs within the Lok Sabha confronted comparable motion for the complete monsoon session, which ends on August 12, for holding placards indoors in regardless of Speaker Om Birla’s warnings to behave.

The home was adjourned for an hour right now after suspended opposition MPs didn’t go away and continued to protest.

The motion towards the 19 Rajya Sabha MPs is more likely to gas opposition anger towards the federal government for what they are saying is an try to silence voices questioning the ruling alliance’s financial and social insurance policies.

“This government has suspended democracy,” Trinamool chief Derek O’Brien informed reporters right now.

The suspended Rajya Sabha MPs are:

  1. Sushmita Dev, Trinamool Congress
  2. Mausam Noor, Trinamool Congress
  3. Shanta Chhetri, Trinamool Congress
  4. Dola Sen, Trinamool Congress
  5. Santanu Sen, Trinamool Congress
  6. Abhi Ranjan Biswar, Trinamool Congress
  7. Dr. Nadimul Haque, Trinamool Congress
  8. M Hamamed Abdullah, DMK
  9. B Lingaiah Yadav, Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS)
  10. AA Rahim, CPI(M)
  11. Ravihandra Vaddraju, TRS
  12. S Kalyanasundaram, DMK
  13. R Girranjan, DMK
  14. NR Elango, DMK
  15. V Sivadasan, CPI(M)
  16. M Shanmugam, DMK
  17. Damodar Rao Divakonda, TRS
  18. Sandosh Kumar P, CPI
  19. Kanimozhi NVN Somu, DMK

Opposition MPs within the Rajya Sabha have been demanding an pressing dialogue on points like value hike and the products and providers tax, or GST, for the previous a number of days, resulting in disruptions in the home.

The opposition demanded that the discussions be held below Rule 267 (Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business within the Rajya Sabha). Under this rule, the problem raised is handled by suspending the listed enterprise for the day.

“You can droop us however you may’t silence us. Sad state of affairs – our honorable MPs try to flag individuals’s points however they’re suspended. How lengthy will this proceed? The sanctity of parliament could be very compromised,” the Trinamool Congress tweeted.

Source link