Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

New Delhi: From north-eastern, central to southern India, this yr goes to witness Assembly polls in a minimum of 9 states. High-stakes election battles, which will unfold in states like Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Chhattisgarh, Telangana, Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland and Mizoram, will undoubtedly set the tone for the extremely anticipated battle of Lok Sabha in 2024 – the mom of all elections. While 2022 has been a yr by which Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has continued its political dominance (aside from a few misfires in Punjab and Himachal Pradesh), its efficiency this yr will decide whether or not he will register his third consecutive electoral victory within the 2024 common election.

BJP bigwigs, who’ve already began addressing rallies in poll-linked states, need to maintain their momentum from final yr via 2023 and seem poised to retain Madhya Pradesh and Karnataka, and oust the Bharat Rashtra Samithi led by KCR in Telangana and Congress. in Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh.

The important opposition Congress, alternatively, is at the moment within the lead after its triumph within the 2022 Himachal Pradesh Assembly elections and due to huge public assist for Rahul Gandhi’s Bharat Jodo Yatra. The central management of the Congress, led by new occasion chairman Malikarjun Kharge, is set to combat shoulder to shoulder with an “invincible” BJP.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) led by Arvind Kejriwal, which garnered a giant share of Congress votes in just lately concluded polls in Gujarat, will additionally like to make its presence felt within the states going to the polls this yr.

Here’s a look at the states that will vote in 2023.

Tripura Assembly Elections

The time period of the Tripura Assembly is due to finish on March 22 and elections are anticipated to happen across the identical time. Earlier in 2018, the BJP swept the Assembly polls by successful 35 seats out of the 60 Assembly members.

However, with the entry of the Trinamool Congress of Mamata Banerjee, the following elections will not be simple for the saffron occasion.

Meghalaya Assembly Elections

The 2023 elections in Meghalaya will possible be held in February or March because the time period of the present Legislative Assembly is anticipated to finish on March 15. Earlier within the 2018 elections, Congress received 21 seats out of the 60 members of the Assembly and have become the biggest occasion. However, he failed to safe a majority to type a authorities.

The BJP, which solely received two seats, then fashioned an alliance with the National People’s Party (NPP) led by Conrad Sangma to type the federal government. NPP received 20 seats. This yr, Meghalaya will witness a three-way contest because the NPP has introduced that it will combat the polls alone.

Nagaland Assembly Elections

Nagaland Assembly elections are additionally anticipated to happen in February or March. The time period of the present Nagaland Legislative Assembly is due to finish on March 12.

In Nagaland, the BJP allied with the National Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) forward of the 2018 elections and fashioned the federal government.
While the NDPP received 18 seats within the 60-member Assembly, the BJP received 12.

The Naga People’s Front (NPF) received 26 seats however failed to type the federal government.

Karnataka Assembly Elections

Karnataka is without doubt one of the important states heading to the polls in 2023. The time period of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly, which has 224 members, ends on May 24 and elections within the BJP-led state are anticipated to be held. maintain at the tip of April or the start of May. Earlier in 2018, no occasion secured a majority and after the suspended meeting, BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa was sworn in as chief minister by the governor, however resigned as he couldn’t muster a majority.

Subsequently, the Congress and the Janata Dal (secular) entered into an alliance to type a authorities with HD Kumaraswamy as chief minister. However, 14 months later, the Kumaraswamy authorities fell after greater than a dozen MPs from the ruling coalition resigned.

In July 2019, Yediyurappa was once more sworn in as Chief Minister. Retaining Karnataka forward of the 2024 common election is vital for the BJP as it’s the solely southern state the place the occasion is in energy.

Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections

The time period of the Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly is set to finish on January 3, 2024. The Congress-led state might witness polls in December this yr.

In 2018, the large outdated occasion uprooted the BJP’s 15-year rule by securing 68 seats within the 91-member Assembly. The Safran camp has been set up with 15 locations.

Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections

Madhya Pradesh is one other essential state that will vote this yr. Elections to elect members of the 230 constituencies are scheduled to happen in December, with the time period of the Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly ending on January 6.

After the 2018 elections, the state noticed Congress and the BJP come to energy.

Congress first wrested energy from the BJP after successful 114 seats within the 230-member meeting and Kamal Nath served as chief minister for about three years. However, BJP’s Shivraj Singh Chouhan reclaimed his throne after two years when 22 incumbent Congress MPs in addition to occasion heavyweight Jyotiraditya Scindia give up and joined the saffron camp.

Mizoram Assembly Elections

Mizoram is anticipated to vote in November or December or the time period of the Legislative Assembly is anticipated to finish on December 17.

Currently, the Mizo National Front (MNF) is in energy, led by Chief Minister Zoramthanga. In 2018, the MNF received 26 seats out of the 40 members of the Assembly and Zoram’s People’s Movement received eight. As Congress received 5 seats, the BJP opened its account within the state for the primary time.

Rajasthan Assembly Elections

The extremely anticipated Rajasthan Assembly elections are additionally scheduled for this yr. The present Rajasthan Legislative Assembly will finish on January 14 and elections could possibly be held in December.

In the 2018 polls, Rajasthan noticed Congress finish BJP rule and win 100 seats within the 200-member Assembly. The saffron occasion received 73 seats.

While Congress will search to retain the desert state, the BJP will search to capitalize on the inner rift between Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and his former deputy Sachin Pilot.

Telangana Assembly Elections

Telangana will additionally go to the polls in December, with the time period of the National Assembly due to finish on January 16.

Chief Minister Ok Chandrasekhar Rao, who has already saved tabs on the Lok Sabha polls in 2024, is searching for to preserve his Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), now Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), in energy.

The BJP, in the meantime, is making an attempt to make inroads in Telangana and goals to dethrone KCR, in energy because the formation of the state.

Source link