Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

New Delhi:: The Municipal Chamber after latest high-stakes civic polls within the nation’s capital will convene once more on Tuesday during which Delhi’s mayor and deputy mayor are anticipated to be elected, weeks after the primary session adjourned following of a row between the AAP and the BJP. . Following the mayoral poll, Delhi will get a mayor for the town as a complete after a 10-year hole.

The first assembly of the newly elected 250-member MCD (Municipal Corporation of Delhi) home on January 6 adjourned with out electing the mayor and deputy mayor amid loud protests from Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) councilors towards the president’s choice to take the oath .to the ten aldermen first. In accordance with the schedule shared by the MCD, the enterprise of the Chamber will start at 11:00 am.

President Satya Sharma stated on Monday that the aldermen appointed by the lieutenant governor can be sworn in first, regardless of fierce opposition from the AAP on the final assembly.
The agenda for the January 24 assembly talked about that councilors and members appointed below the DMC Act 1957 (as amended in 2022) might be sworn in. However, it doesn’t specify the sequence of taking the oath.

Municipal elections have been held on December 4 and the counting of votes occurred on December 7. The AAP emerged as a giant winner within the polls, successful 134 districts and ending the 15-year reign of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in civic administration. physique. The BJP received 104 districts to end second whereas the Congress received 9 seats. Shelly Oberoi and Ashu Thakur are the AAP contenders for mayor. The BJP nominated Rekha Gupta.

The candidates for the submit of deputy mayor are Aaley Mohammad Iqbal and Jalaj Kumar (AAP) and Kamal Bagri (BJP). In addition to the mayor and deputy mayor, six members of the MCD standing committee are additionally to be elected on the Municipal Assembly. The place of mayor of the nation’s capital sees 5 one-year phrases in rotation, with the primary 12 months being reserved for ladies, the second within the open class, the third within the reserved class and the opposite two within the open class.

Delhi could have a feminine mayor this 12 months. Voters for the mayoral election are 250 councillors, seven MPs from the Lok Sabha and three from the Delhi Rajya Sabha and 14 MPs nominated by the Legislative Assembly. The Speaker of the Delhi Assembly has appointed one BJP MP and 13 AAP MPs to the MCD.

Source link