Dhankhar vs Alva: Counting of votes underway to elect the next Vice President

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

New Delhi: Counting of votes started for the Vice Presidential Election 2022 after polling ended at 5 pm in the Parliament House, with round 93 per cent remaining voter turnout on Saturday (August 6). Citing officers, PTI reported that greater than 50 MPs didn’t solid their votes to elect M Venkaiah Naidu’s successor. The polls sealed the destiny of NDA candidate Jagdeep Dhankhar and the opposition’s selection Margaret Alva. The counting started at 6 pm beneath the supervision of the Lok Sabha Secretary General, who’s the returning officer for the election.

How many MPs voted in the 2022 vice presidential election?

Out of the complete of 780 MPs in each Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha, as many as 725 MPs voted until 5 pm when the voting was concluded. Voting for the new Vice President of India began at 10 am.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his predecessor Manmohan Singh voted early in the morning. Opposition leaders, together with Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi, voted later in the day, officers mentioned. Home Minister Amit Shah, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP President JP Nadda, Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan and Commerce Minister and Leader of the House in Rajya Sabha Piyush Goyal had been additionally amongst the early voters.

The Trinamool Congress, which has 39 MPs, abstained, however two of its MPs – Sisir Kumar Adhikari and Dibyendu Adhikari – broke ranks and exercised their proper to vote.

Those who didn’t solid their votes embrace BJP MPs Sunny Deol and Sanjay Dhotre and Samajwadi Party’s Mulayam Singh Yadav and Shafiqur Rahman Barq amongst distinguished leaders.

Who can vote in VP elections?

All Members of Parliament of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, together with nominated members, can solid their vote in the Vice-Presidential election. The mixed sanctioned energy of each the homes is 788 MPs, of which Rajya Sabha has eight vacancies.

Jagdeep Dhankhar vs Margaret Alva

Former West Bengal Governor Dhankhar has a transparent lead over his rival Alva as the ruling BJP has an absolute majority in the Lok Sabha and 91 members in the higher home. He is probably going to succeed M Venkaiah Naidu, whose tenure as the VP ends on August 10.

Source link