Jagdeep Dhankhar is New Vice President, Defeated Margaret Alva: 10 Points

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!


Jagdeep Dhankhar, a Jat, was born in 1951 to a farming household in a small village in Rajasthan.

New Delhi:
Jagdeep Dhankhar, former Governor of Bengal, was elected because the Vice President on Saturday. She defeated the Opposition’s Margaret Alva to emerge victorious.

Here are the highest factors on this large story:

  1. The BJP-led NDA candidate comfortably gained the election with 528 votes in opposition to Ms Alva’s 182, the polling which passed off earlier at this time. The Vice President is additionally the ex officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

  2. Mr Dhankhar secured 74.36 per cent. He had the best profitable margin within the final six vice presidential elections held since 1997.

  3. The returning officer of the vice presidential election mentioned out of a complete of 780 electors, 725 voted however 15 votes had been discovered to be invalid. The turnout was 92.94 %, he mentioned, including {that a} candidate wanted 356 votes to be elected.

  4. The Trinamool Congress, which has a complete of 36 MPs, together with 23 within the Lok Sabha, abstained from the election. However, two of its MPs voted. As many as 55 MPs didn’t vote within the vice presidential election held from 10 am to five pm final Saturday.

  5. Margaret Alva congratulated Mr Dhankhar on the win. He additionally thanked the leaders of the Opposition, and MPs from numerous events who voted for him on this election. “This election is over. The fight to protect our Constitution, strengthen our democracy and restore the dignity of Parliament will continue,” she posted on Twitter.

  6. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, together with BJP chief JP Nadda, went to congratulate Mr Dhankhar on his election as Vice President.

  7. Mr Dhankhar has the help of a number of different non-NDA events – Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal, Jaganmohan Reddy’s YSR Congress, Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party, Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party, the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, Akali Dal and the group of Eknath Shinde of Shiv Tanda.

  8. The Telangana Rashtra Samithi, Aam Aadmi Party and the 9 MPs of the Shiv Sena’s Uddhav Thackeray faction supported Ms Alva.

  9. Mr Dhankhar would be the second vice chairman from Rajasthan after Bhairon Singh Shekhawat who held the workplace between 2002 and 2007.

  10. Joyful scenes had been additionally reported from Rajasthan’s Jhunjhunu, Mr Dhankhar’s hometown. Celebrations additionally passed off on the state BJP headquarters in Jaipur the place individuals danced to the beats of dhols and distributed sweets.

Source link